NASENI operates mainly through her Development Institutes, each of the Institutes has a unique mandate of Engineering Infrastructural development. At present, there are Eleven (11) Development Institutes. Each of the Development Institutes is headed by a Managing Director who is the Chief Executive of the Institute. The Managing Director is a Professional Engineer with proven experience in engineering practice, research, and development. The Institute Managing Director reports to the Executive Vice Chairman (EVC) at NASENI Headquarters in Abuja. These Institutes have developed various technologies some of which have been ceded to SMEs. The Institutes and their mandates are:

Electronics Development Institute, Awka


Engineering Materials Development Institute, Akure


National Engineering Design Development Institute, Nnewi


Advanced Manufacturing Technology Development Institute, Jalingo


Power Equipment and Electrical Machinery Development Institute, Okene


Scientific Equipment Development Institute, Enugu


Solid Minerals Machinery and Equipment Development Institute (SOMMEDI), Nasarawa

  • Hydraulic Equipment Development Institute (HEDI), Kano with the mandate to develop and produce hydraulic and pneumatic machinery, materials, fittings, and their production systems, and the ceding of the technologies to SMEs.
  • Prototype Engineering Development Institute (PEDI), Ilesha with the mandate of developing engineering prototypes and their production systems and the transfer of these to private sector satellite industries.
  • The Agricultural Machinery and Equipment Development Institute (AMEDI), Lafiya, Nasarawa State has the mandate to develop agricultural machinery, equipment and related technologies and to cede developed products and technologies to the private sector for mass production and commercialization, having the primary focus on the North Central zone of Nigeria, and is expected to look into solving the agricultural and agro-allied technology challenges of Nasarawa, Benue, Kogi, Kwara, Niger and Plateau states and the Federal Capital Territory.